A Brave New World, With Such People In It

So, here I am, newly arrived in Raleigh, North Carolina. I am glad that I had GPS, because otherwise I would have wound up in Raleigh, Florida, and really, where is the adventure in that? Actually, the only reason I had GPS is because my darling gorgeous wife didn’t trust me to get here in one piece. You get lost ONE time…TWO times…TH..oh, okay, I guess I needed it. GPS rocks.

I have to say, Raleigh is a nice place. Decent weather, the people seem nice, the accents do not seem too bad, and with luck there will be few Yankee fans or people from Delaware, which is of course the greatest state, but really small. Plus, there seems to be a decent Gator crowd here; they even have Gator plates! My friend C., who so kindly put me up until I find a house, has one, and the wife and I so will do the same. Gator Nation, like Red Sox Nation, is everywhere. Oh, maybe they have a Red Sox plate too..Hmmmm…

I do miss my family tremendously. I miss my darling S.’s bright smile and her kisses. I miss my little M.’s giggles and grins. I cannot wait until they can join me here, and we have a house.

So, okay, all of that is out of the way, what is the blog about? Well, hey, it’s my freaking blog, so it is about whatever I bloody well please! 🙂 That being said, this will be a place to discuss education, life in North Carolina for a Yankee expatriate (and halfback, which seems to be the term for my sort: ‘half way back to New England from Florida’), some politics, Red Sox baseball, Patriot and Gator football, comics, and pickles. My daughter really like pickles.

Thanks for reading, and I hope you stay.

 

4 thoughts on “A Brave New World, With Such People In It

  1. The title makes me think of A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court, or in your case A Massachusetts Yankee (via Florida) in a North Carolina Middle School Class Room.

Leave a Reply

