Listen why don’t we just leave that position vacant? Truth be told, I think I thrive under a lack of accountability.

I met the whole faculty today. Sort of. It is huge. It took me 6 months to learn the staff at WHS. This place has, I think, close to 80 faculty of various stripes. So, yeah, pictures. Pictures and name tags, Except half of them don’t wear their ID, so I will smile and nod and pretend I speak their language.

The 8th grade team, obviously, is a whole lot smaller, and most of us are in trailers. And they seem great. Of course, no faculty meeting would be complete without a ‘discussion,’ and we spent some time ‘discussing’ how to address the need to allow make-up work and test retakes. But every school has that sort of discussion, no? Remember 50? Same discussion here. I can go with what they want, but boy, it was awesome to see that the other two social studies teachers in the 8th grade were on my wavelength. I really really like my department, so far (though damn if I still really miss my old folks; you never forget the first, hmm?). The guy I spent most of the time talking to said he is often known as the resident ahole, hardcore and rigorous and demanding, but that he is actually a softie. I like him already. 🙂 And, of course, one of the school’s math teachers is as die hard a Sox fan as I am! From Brockton, I think! Awesome.

We meet the Superintendent on Friday. He is a graduate and disciple of the Broad Foundation. He seems an interesting choice; I look forward to hearing what he has to say.

I hope all of you who are educators are having a great start to the year in this pre-planning week, or with your first couple weeks of students.

One thought on “Listen why don’t we just leave that position vacant? Truth be told, I think I thrive under a lack of accountability.

Leave a Reply

